Photo via John Weast/Getty Images

Atavus-Football_bl_highresThe 2016 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award has announced the five finalists for the annual award given to the “college football’s Offensive Player of the Year with a Texas connection by SporTyler and the Tyler Chamber of Commerce.”

D’Onta Foreman
Foreman led the nation in rushing this season with 2,028 yards on 361 carries only second in Texas history to 1998 Heisman Trophy winner Ricky Williams.

Jalen Hurts
Hurts is leading the machine known as the Crimson Tide as a true freshman. Hurts has 34 total touchdowns on the season.

Patrick Mahomes II
Mahomes has been otherworldly this season throwing for over 5,000 yards and 41 touchdowns. The quarterback has a tough decision ahead of him on whether to enter the NFL Draft or not.

Baker Mayfield
Mayfield led the Sooners to the Big 12 title and has already announced he will be back for his senior year. Mayfield has thrown for over 3,500 yards and is responsible for 44 total touchdowns.

Dede Westbrook
Westbrook along with Mayfield was what made Sooner boom, Westbrook caught 74 balls for 1,465 and 16 of those catches ended with the fight song.’s Honorable Mentions
Aaron Jones RB, UTEP– way out in west Texas at UTEP rushed for 1,773 yards and 17 touchdowns.

Skylar Howard QB, West Virginia– Howard was responsible for over 3,500 yards and 35 touchdowns.

Greg Ward Jr. QB, Houston– Ward didn’t quite have the overall season the Cougars were hoping he’d have be he still had 31 total touchdowns and over 3,800 total yards.

Brought To You By