Photo: Gordon DeLoach/

As the college football season approaches the end of the regular season, that means we’re also getting closer to awards season. On Tuesday, former Lake Travis quarterback Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma) and Wichita Falls Rider signal caller J.T. Barrett (Ohio State) were each named one of five finalists for the Johnny Unitas Award. The award is given annually to the nation’s senior or fourth-year quarterback. Former Clemson quarterback and Houston Texans rookie Deshaun Watson won the award last year.

Mayfield has been a star this season for Oklahoma, throwing for more than 3,500 yards and 31 touchdowns. The senior is also considered one of the frontrunners for the Heisman Trophy and will be a big key in the push for the College Football Playoff for the Sooners.

Oklahoma travels to Lawrence to take on Kansas and ends their regular season at home against West Virginia before a potential date in the Big 12 Championship.

Joe Maiorana/USA TODAY Sports

Meanwhile, J.T. Barrett has broken several passing records in the Big Ten and became the conference’s all-time leading passer. After a disappointing performance against Iowa, Barrett bounced back and led Ohio State to a 48-3 blowout win over Michigan State. The senior will play his final game at Ohio Stadium on Saturday against Illinois.

Oklahoma State quarterback Mason Rudolph, Penn State quarterback Trace McSorley and Ryan Finley of N.C. State are the other finalists. The award will be given on December 8 in Baltimore, Maryland.

Brought to you by:

Related Posts