Posted 29 September 2008 - 06:22 AM
My understanding (if I understand this right) is that an extra point is a "continuation" of the previous play. Is this correct? And if so, why isn't it considered an actual "play"? I realize that no time is taken off the clock, but you can still get a point or a penalty on the play.
Posted 29 September 2008 - 06:41 AM
Posted 29 September 2008 - 06:47 AM
Not sure what you are getting at. It is a "play" in the sense of the rules applying to it. The main thing unique about it is the absence of any time running off the game clock (althiough the play clock IS in effect). There are some unique penalty enforcements on extra point attempts also but it is a play.
I guess the question then, is, "is an extra point a continuation of the previous play"?
Posted 29 September 2008 - 03:41 PM
nope, just an untimed play.
Then why are penalties on the previous play (TD plays) enforced on the kickoff?
Posted 29 September 2008 - 04:09 PM
Posted 30 September 2008 - 12:30 AM
It is the offended team's choice when there is a penalty that qualifies for carryover. They can have it on the extra point if they choose or they can have it on the KO Unless a team is going for 2, they usually take it on the KO
Ahhh. Ok. Makes Since.
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users