Punt through the uprights?
Posted 28 April 2010 - 04:56 PM
Posted 28 April 2010 - 06:33 PM
I assume you mean it goes through and then lands on the other side? If so, that is a touchback. I guess you could have a punt go through the uprighst andthen a gust of West Texas wind pick it up and drive it back into the field of play. Then it would not necessarily be a touchback.
If a punter kicks the ball through the uprights, is it a touchback?
Posted 14 June 2010 - 05:10 AM
I think this rule goes way back to pre- 1920 - For a kicked ball through the upright to count for points the ball has to be grounded before the kicker contacts the ball. Remember the "drop-kick". The kicker drops the ball in a vertical manner and just as the ball touches the ground he kicks it. In my time I knew one asst. coach who was accurate with the drop-kick from the 25 yard line 95%. O.K.? A punt will not count for points.
0 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users