HOUSTON, TX – Houston Football’s Kenneth Farrow and William Jackson III were named to the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards watch lists given annually to the nation’s top offensive and defensive players, respectively, the Maxwell Football Club announced Tuesday.

Hurst played for the L.D. Bell Raiders in Hurst and Jackson played for the Wheatley Wildcats in Houston, Texas.

Houston was the only program from The American Athletic Conference to place student-athletes on both lists and appeared on the Maxwell Award watch list for the second consecutive year after placing two on the 2014 watch list.


Farrow led the American in 2014 with seven 100-yard rushing games and was second in the league with 1,037 yards on the ground, just four yards away from the league lead. Farrow led the conference in scoring with 15 total touchdowns – a league-best 14 rushing TDs and one receiving TD. The two-time captain also added 18 receptions for 107 yards and a TD and was named to the 2014 American Athletic Conference Second Team.

The Hurst, Texas, native enters the season riding a streak of four consecutive games with 100 yards of rushing. Farrow had previously been named to The American Athletic Conference Preseason First Team by Phil Steele and Athlon.

A lockdown corner who played in man coverage most of 2014, Jackson was named to the 2014 American Athletic Conference Second Team after finishing second in the league with 10 pass breakups and two interceptions with 37 tackles on the year. Jackson also had one fumble recovery and one forced fumble on the year.

Tuesday’s announcement is the latest preseason honor for Jackson who was named a preseason Third-Team All-American by Phil Steele. Jackson was also named to Steele’s and Athlon’s Preseason First Team All-American Athletic Conference Team.