Photo: Brendan Maloney/USA TODAY Sports

Former Texas head coach Mack Brown has been selected for the College Football Hall of Fame, part of the class of 13 that includes former players like Charles Woodson and Calvin Johnson.

Brown won 244 games during his 30-year head coaching career, which ranks No. 10 all-time in FBS history. During his 15-year coaching career in Austin, he finished second behind Darrell Royal for most wins in school history (158) and also led Texas to a national championship during the 2005 season.

There were two other inductees with Texas connections that were officially announced as part of the new class.

Former Rice standout Trevor Cobb was also selected as one of the newest members of the class. The running back from Pasadena Dobie turned out a stellar career with the Owls that included winning the 1991 Doak Walker Award given to the nation’s running back.

Cobb was a three-time all-conference selection in the Southwest Conference and left the school as one of the program’s all-time leading rushers with 4,948 yards.

Longtime head coach Mel Tjeerdsma was also selected as a Hall of Fame selection. In his 27-year head coaching career, Tjeerdsma became the winningest coach in program history at Austin College (Sherman, TX) from 1984-1993 as well as Northwest Missouri State (1994-2010).

Tjeerdsman won 59 games in 10 seasons at Austin College and led the ‘Roos to three conference titles and two other trips to the NAIA Division II playoffs in 1988 and 1990.

A list of the full class can be found here.

The class be will be officially recognized by the National Football Foundation in December in New York City.

Brought To You By