The Texas High School Football Hall of Fame is adding more legends to its distinguished collection. In a recent press release, the association announced the upcoming inductions of nine players highlighted by Sealy High School alumni, Eric Dickerson.

Dickerson, who had a standout collegiate career at SMU before spending 11 years in the NFL with the Rams, Cots, Raiders and Falcons, is being honored for his 1978 season at Sealy among other things.

The running back guided the Tigers to the Class 2A championship that year, rushing for 2,667 yards, culminating with a then-record 296 yards in the title game – a 42-20 victory against Abilene Wylie.

Already in the Pro Football Hall of Fame, Dickerson is also on the ballot for this year’s College Football Hall of Fame.

Other inductees for this year’s high school hall of fame include Charley Taylor (Grand Prairie Dalworth), Chuck Dicus (Garland), Tyrone Thurman (Midland Lee), David Warren (Tyler) and Danny Amendola (The Woodlands). Chad Morris (Bay City, Austin Lake Travis) and Dan R. Hooks (West Orange-Stark) will be inducted as coaches, and Joe Martin will be recognized as a contributor.

The induction ceremony will take place at Waco’s Ferrell Center on May 2.

Tickets go on sale in January for $50 with student tickets costing $15. To purchase tickets, call 210-290-8570 by April 26.

 A news conference will be held May 2 at 3 p.m. at the Texas Sports Hall of Fame in Waco.