Photo via


Double-digit wins have become the norm at Spring Westfield with the Meekins family in charge. The Mustangs made it six years in a row after last year’s 10-4 run that ended in the state quarterfinals.

Ever since Westfield went 0-10 in the 1999 season, the Mustangs have compiled a 164-48 record in 17 years, which comes to nearly 10 wins a season over that span — with no losing records, either.

Last year the Mustangs began the season with three non-district losses. The first was to a very talented Houston Lamar squad. The next was to perennial power Euless Trinity (28-27) and the other at state quarterfinalist North Shore. Westfield then rolled to a 7-0 mark in District 16-6A to capture the district championship for the fifth-consecutive year.

Westfield destroyed Stratford in the first round of the playoffs (35-3) and shutout Round Rock Stony Point, 24-0, in the area round. After throttling West Brook, 44-6, in the regional round, the Mustangs finally got corralled in a 21-18 loss to Klein Collins in the state quarterfinals.

TCU-bound Kerry Johnson headlined a defense that allowed just 13 points a game.

Key Losses

FS Kerry Johnson, RB Daniel Young, WR Jaylon Garrett

Kerry Johnson was named the District 16-6A Player of the Year after making 109 tackles — 73 of them solo — and hauling in three interceptions and two fumble recoveries. He will take his talents to Texas Christian University this Fall.

Daniel Young rushed for 1,290 yards and 19 touchdowns in an offense that churned out nearly 5,000 yards of offense. Garrett led the Mustangs in receiving with 648 yards and seven touchdowns.

Westfield also loses Trey Martin (5-10, 270), Samuel Biggins (5-11, 290) and Jaylin Martin 5-10, 235) from a gifted offensive line.

Key Returners

QB Blair Benton, DE Joshua Carr, RB Rayshawn James, MLB Franklin Montgomery

Blair Benton passed for 1,278 yards and 12 touchdowns and rushed for four more scores in 2016. Carr was a unanimous first-team all-district selection on the defensive line.

James and Montgomery shined as sophomores in 2016. James was the Offensive Newcomer of the Year after rushing for 747 yards and eight touchdowns and Montgomery was the district’s Defensive Newcomer of the Year.

Braelon Bland (705 rushing yards, 8 TD) also returns in the offensive backfield.

The Verdict

Coach Matt Meekins simply reloads at Westfield. He returns his quarterback, two solid running backs and a few players back from last year’s defense that lost defensive coach AJ Blum, who has taken the defensive line coaching position at the University of Houston.

But this is Westfield, where talent grows on trees and good coaches gravitate. The non-district schedule will once again be one of the toughest in the state. After a home game against Lamar, the Mustangs travel to Euless Trinity, which plays at powerhouse Tulsa (Okla.) Union in Week 1. Then it’s North Shore before District 16- 6A begins.

The road to a sixth-straight district title will most likely have to go through a Dekaney team that looks to be much better in 2017, and of course, crosstown rival Spring.

But if history is any indicator, expect to see Westfield with 10 or more wins and playing deep into November or into December.

Brought to you by:

Screenshot 2017-03-22 09.40.58

Related Posts