Photo via Joseph Nguyen,

Another college football bowl game has officially made its way to the Metroplex. The Miami Beach Bowl has become the Frisco Bowl. The newly created bowl game will be played at Toyota Stadium on December 20 starting this year with a matchup with a team from the American Athletic Conference and another team to be determined.

The move was officially announced in a press conference on Tuesday.

The former Miami Beach Bowl was formed back in 2014 and was originally owned by the American Athletic Conference before being sold to ESPN Events last month. Toyota Stadium, which is currently the home stadium of Major League Soccer’s FC Dallas, will also continue to host the FCS National Championship game.

In a release, ESPN vice president of events Clint Overby said, “We are pleased to be able to host this game in one of the most vibrant football markets in the country. The infrastructure and facilities that exist in Frisco are outstanding and will be an excellent venue for the teams, players, administrators and fans traveling into the marketplace. We look forward to working with civic organizations and businesses in the area to create an annual event that embraces the spirit of the community.”

Overby also said that the game currently does not have a title sponsor but did indicate that they would be looking for one.

Tulsa dominated Central Michigan en route to a 55-10 win in the final edition of the Miami Beach Bowl.

This is now officially the fourth bowl game that will be played in the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex joining the Cotton Bowl (Arlington), Armed Forces Bowl (Fort Worth) and Heart of Dallas Bowl (Dallas).


Brought to you by: