Zach Thomas, a seven-time Pro Bowl linebacker from Pampa, was named a finalist for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2020.

This is the first time Thomas, who helped White Deer win the Class 1A state championship in 1988, was named a finalist despite being previously eligible. Thomas played collegiately at Texas Tech, and he was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2015.

Thomas recorded 1,720 career tackles in 184 NFL games, spending time with the Miami Dolphins (1996-2007) and the Dallas Cowboys (2008).

Additionally, guard Alan Faneca, a Lamar Consolidated product, was named a finalist. The first-round pick played for the Pittsburgh Steelers from 1998 to 2007, the New York Jets from 2008 to 2009 and the Arizona Cardinals in 2010.

Other nominees include:
Troy Polamalu, S — 2003-2014 Pittsburgh Steelers
Edgerrin James, RB — 1999-2005 Indianapolis Colts, 2006-08 Arizona Cardinals, 2009 Seattle Seahawks
Bryant Young, DT — 1994-2007 San Francisco 49ers
Richard Seymour, DE/DT — 2001-08 New England Patriots, 2009-2012 Oakland Raiders
John Lynch, FS — 1993-2003 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2004-07 Denver Broncos
Steve Atwater, S — 1989-1998 Denver Broncos, 1999 New York Jets
LeRoy Butler, S — 1990-2001 Green Bay Packers
Reggie Wayne, WR — 2001-2014 Indianapolis Colts
Torry Holt, WR — 1999-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Jacksonville Jaguars
Isaac Bruce, WR — 1994-2007 Los Angeles/St. Louis Rams, 2008-09 San Francisco 49ers
Sam Mills, LB — 1986-1994 New Orleans Saints, 1995-97 Carolina Panthers
Tony Boselli, T — 1995-2001 Jacksonville Jaguars, 2002 Houston Texans (injured reserve)
Steve Hutchinson, G — 2001-05 Seattle Seahawks, 2006-2011 Minnesota Vikings, 2012 Tennessee Titans

As many as five of the finalists will be chosen Feb. 1 — the day before Super Bowl LIV — by the Hall’s board of selectors. The Class of 2020 will be formally introduced during the NFL Honors show that evening.