GEICO State Champions Bowl Series To Be Played At The Ford Center At The Star in Frisco, Texas

| | ,

Photo via Warren Schorr
Kyle Spishock @kyleelconqueror
October 14, 2016

Ask the football Gods, and they shall deliver. After the dust has settled on the Texas football postseason, state champion teams from Arizona, Georgia, Florida and Utah will compete in a two-game post season bowl on Dec. 23 at the Dallas Cowboy’s 12,000-seat practice facility in Frisco. ESPN will broadcast the competition and GEICO will serve as the corporate sponsor.

Each of the four states obviously have more than one state champion, so those chosen will be based on their average ranking; team classification will also be determined as a factor in the selection process.

It’s a little unusual that Texas teams will not compete in the tournament, a marketing faux pas where the best of the Lone Star state could have the opportunity to defend their southern turf. Apparently, the UIL (the Texas University Interscholastic League) refused to give permission to the Paragon Marketing Group — the organizers for ESPN high school football and basketball games. Other states have currently joined the conversation for inclusion, notably Nevada — the home of current No. 1-ranked Bishop Gorman (Las Vegas), who opened the season butchering the Cedar Hill Longhorns in Dallas. Regular season championships conclude Dec. 17 — six days before the GEICO State Champions Bowl Series.

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Euless Trinity Keeps Their Playoff Hopes Alive

Pregame Breakdown: Allen vs. Denton Guyer

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Posts