Mahomes wins Super Bowl MVP after excelling in Texas HS & college programs

| |

Patrick Mahomes is going from Whitehouse to the White House after leading the Kansas City Chiefs to the Super Bowl LVI title by beating the San Francisco 49ers 31-20 on Sunday.

Mahomes was named Super Bowl MVP after helping the Chiefs score 21 fourth quarter point in the win. Mahomes completed 26 for 42 attempts for 286 yards and two touchdowns passing while scoring a rushing score.

Mahomes isn’t the only Lone Star native to win The Big Game as defensive end Emmanuel Ogbah (Fort Bend Bush), defensive end Alex Okafor (Pflugerville) and defensive back Armani Watts (North Forney) were also a part of the championship team.

Mahomes, a former Texas Tech star, becomes the first Super Bowl winning starting quarterback to play both his high school and collegiate football in Texas. Mahomes also became the first player in NFL history to win the regular season and Super Bowl MVP before the age of 25 and broke a 50-year Super Bowl drought in Kansas City.

The Chiefs selected Mahomes with the 10th overall pick in 2017 he joins Austin Westlake’s Drew Brees and Nick Foles as Texas High School Football alums to quarterback their teams to a Super Bowl win and garner Super Bowl MVP honors.

Ogbah went from the cellar to the penthouse in the last nine months. He was traded from Cleveland to Kansas City in April, played high school football at Fort Bend Bush and went on to excel at Oklahoma State.

Okafor was one the state’s most sought after defensive ends when he graduated from Pflugerville in 2009 and was a part of the 2009 Texas Longhorns team that made it to the BCS National Championship Game. Arizona drafted Okafor in the fourth round in 2013 and played with New Orleans in 2017 and 2018 before joining the Chiefs this season.

Kansas City selected Watts with its fourth round pick in 2018. He made a name for himself under the Friday Night Lights at North Forney and went on to be play for Texas A&M.

Alberto Alvarado

Senior Writer, Albert Alvarado / Twitter: @Alvarado_Sports


From Allen to NFL’s next big thing, Kyler Murray named Offensive Rookie of the Year

From Whitehouse to the Super Bowl, Patrick Mahomes is an NFL Champion

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Posts

Free 2021 Championship Edition

Free 2021 Championship Edition

Join our mailing list and instantly download TexasHSFootball Magazine – Championship Edition featuring playoff and championship game ACTION PHOTOS.

You have Successfully Subscribed!