Texan Coaches Named To Hall Of Honor By THSCA

| | ,


Photo via Peyton Smith, TexasHSFootball.com


The THSCA has chosen to honor several legendary coaches from the Texas High School Football ranks – Eddy Peach (Arlington Lamar), Don Clayton (Katy Cinco Ranch), Roberto Vela (Edcouch-Elsa, Edinburg) and James Cameron (Rockwall, Kilgore, Sulphur Springs).

Eddy Peach was the head coach of the Lamar Vikings for 39 years, and posted a 310-123-6 record during his time there.

James Cameron took McKinney to the state semifinals and took Rockwall as far as the state semifinals, and he posted a 48-14-1 record with Rockwall.

Robert Vela died in 2007. His overall record was 137-73, and he scored 14 playoff berths during his time coaching. Robert Vela High School in Edinburg is named after him.

Don Clayton is the head coach and athletic director of Katy Cinco Ranch. He’s been at the position since 1999, and has taken the Cougars as far as the semifinals.

The inductees will be honored on the last day of the THSCA Coaching School and Convention, which will be held on July 23rd-26th.


Brought to you by:



0 0 vote
Article Rating

Patrick Mahomes Highlighted In “Gruden’s QB Camp”

Roundtable Discussion – Top Quarterbacks In Texas

Notify of
1 Comment
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Robert Weir
Robert Weir
3 years ago

The THSCA has selected another well deserved group of coaches for the Hall of Honor but it seems that the majority inducted this year and past years are from only football programs. Hopefully, the selection committee will branch out in the next few years and include more deserving coaches from basketball, track, baseball, soccer, etc. Congrats to the new inductees.

Related Posts