Baytown’s Quentin Coryatt Set to Enter 11th Cotton Bowl HOF Class

| | ,

Photo courtesy Texas A&M University Archives

ARLINGTON — The Cotton Bowl Athletic Association announced it will recognize six individuals who helped shape college football history with induction into the 11th Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame class in May at AT&T Stadium.

One of those players is Texas-bred and arguably one of the best talents at his position.

Former Robert E. Lee High School and Texas A&M linebacker Quentin Coryatt joins a group that includes the likes of former Arkansas and Ole Miss Head Coach Houston Nutt, USC Head Coach John Robinson, Penn State running back and linebacker Wally Triplett, Texas running back Ricky Williams, and Oklahoma Sooner and Dallas Cowboy strong safety Roy Williams.

“Those extraordinary individuals whose unique talents formed the pageantry and prestige of one of college football’s most historic post-season bowl games are showcased in the Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame,” said Jay McAuley, Chairman of the Cotton Bowl Athletic Association (CBAA). “The Cotton Bowl Hall of Fame allows fans to revisit the rich tradition of outstanding college football played annually here in North Texas.”

During the 1992 Cotton Bowl Classic and the days of the now-defunct Southwest Conference, Coryatt, one of Texas A&M’s legendary “Wrecking Crew” packed a punch, racking up a game-high 15 tackles (10 solo, 3 TFL).

His sack of Florida State quarterback Casey Weldon and his ability to deal out viciously delicious hits — including one that broke TCU wide receiver Kyle McPherson’s jaw — with alarming accuracy, too, became the stuff of legend.

It also earned him the honor of being the No. 2 player picked in the 1992 NFL Draft courtesy of the Indianapolis Colts and one-year stop in Dallas as a Cowboy in 1999.

[su_pullquote align=”right”]Since its first game in 1937, the Classic has hosted:
• 139 College Football Hall of Famers
• 9 Heisman Trophy winners
• 7 Walter Camp Award winners
• 4 Davey O’Brien Award winners
• 4 Lombardi Award winners
• 27 Pro Football Hall of Famers
• 7 Maxwell Award winners
• 6 Outland Trophy Award winners
• 4 Johnny Unitas Award winners
• 3 Doak Walker Award winners[/su_pullquote]

A judging committee comprised of media representatives and athletic administrators voted from a ballot consisting of 60 nominees that included former players, coaches, bowl administrators and others who have made special contributions to the Classic. Voting is based solely upon an individual’s performance in – or contribution to – the Classic rather than on the person’s overall college or professional career.

An individual is eligible five years after their final Classic appearance.

The induction ceremony for the 2018 class is scheduled to be held on the west concourse of AT&T Stadium during the second week of May. The hour-long ceremony is free and open to the public. The exact date was not released to press by the time of publishing.


Marcus Matthews-Marion is the managing editor of TexasHSFootball, covering prep football throughout the Lone Star State. Follow him on Twitter, @TheMJMatthews, and read more of his content here.

Brought to you by:



USC OC Tee Martin Gives USC Gunslinger Approval Stamp Amid Question Marks about Draft Position

NC State Takes Control Early, Runs Past Arizona State To Take Home Sun Bowl Victory

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Posts

Free 2021 Championship Edition

Free 2021 Championship Edition

Join our mailing list and instantly download TexasHSFootball Magazine – Championship Edition featuring playoff and championship game ACTION PHOTOS.

You have Successfully Subscribed!