New Hardware Awarded to some of Texas’ Best

| | ,

Photo via ESPN

siege logo 3The 2016 College Football Awards have now come and gone with some familiar names around the nation being named recipients of their respective award. With an abundance of talent present at the awards ceremony, two players in particular are heading back to Texas with some newly obtained hardware.

D’Onta Foreman was awarded the Doak Walker Award after rushing for over 2,000 yards this season and 15 touchdowns. The junior is forgoing his senior season to enter next year’s draft and despite a tumultuous season under former Texas head coach Charlie Strong, Foreman was able to be an outstanding member of the Longhorn offense. So much so that some even considered him a snub in this year’s Heisman finalists.

Former Oklahoma quarterback and Sugar Bowl MVP Trevor Knight was awarded the Wuerffel Trophy a few days ago. The Wuerffel Trophy is given to a player who best exemplifies academic, athletic and community service excellence. Knight was given the award due to his efforts in organizing a student-athlete humanitarian trip to Haiti among other notable community service events.

Other notable finalists for various awards included Myles Garrett of Texas A&M (Chuck Bednarik Award) and Michael Dickson of the University of Texas (Ray Guy Award). Baker Mayfield, a former player at Lake Travis High School was a finalist for the Davey O’Brien Award and Maxwell Award. His teammate Dede Westbrook, a former player at Cameron Yoe High School, received the Biletnikoff Award for top wide receiver.

Brought To You By
siege logo 2

0 0 vote
Article Rating

Boling’s Massive QB Tough To Stop

The TJ McAloon Show Ep. 5 – Stew Myrick

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Posts