Deer Park’s Zane Gonzalez Takes Home Lou Groza Award

| | ,

Photo via and Russ Isabella / USA TODAY Sport


D’Onta Foreman isn’t the only Texan who took home an individual award on Thursday night. Arizona State kicker Zane Gonzalez was named the recipient of the Lou Groza Award, given to the nation’s best kicker.

The senior out of Deer Park made 23-of-25 field goals this season for the Sun Devils. He also set the all-time field goals record in NCAA history earlier this year in a game against UCLA. He finishes his college career with 96 career field goals and 494 career points.

Gonzalez beat out Auburn’s Daniel Carlson and Georgia Southern’s Younghoe Koo for the award. He joins Thomas Weber (2007) as the only Sun Devils to win the award.

Brought to you by:



D’Onta Foreman Brings the Doak Walker Award Back to Texas

Sam Houston State Football Celebrates High-Flying Graduation Day

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Related Posts